How to anonymize DICOM images?

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner of 3D Slicer and i have a simple question:

How to erase the information of patient on the CT or MR scan?

1 Like

If you want to remove protected health information from DICOM files you could look into DicomCleaner or CTP.

http://www.dclunie.com/pixelmed/software/webstart/DicomCleanerUsage.html

http://mircwiki.rsna.org/index.php?title=The_CTP_DICOM_Anonymizer

2 Likes

Note that you should always be extra careful, since sometime information that is not obvious must be removed to make the DICOM data de-identified.

One may think that removing patient name and birth date is sufficient, but in reality the process is a lot a lot more complex. Because of this, it is usually a good idea to rely on established and verified tools, like the ones mentioned by @pieper.

If you only care about the image pixel content, you can save the image into a non-DICOM format, which will discard all of the patient-specific metadata. Unless your image has burned-in annotations (and unless you worry about patient’s face or other image features that can uniquely identify the subject), this might be sufficient.

1 Like

Thanks!
Dicomcleaner is a very good software.I want to know whether the procedure can be done with 3d slicer?

Nothing specifically for deidentification in Slicer. Best to use one of the dedicated tools if you want to be confident in the results (it’s unfortaunately easy for patient identifying information to be left in the files by mistake).

What you can easily do in Slicer is what @fedorov suggested above: save the image file as .nrrd file (menu: File / Save).

You could find ways in Slicer to edit DICOM metadata but you are probably better off using dedicated tools. Why is it important for you to do the anonymization in Slicer?

1 Like

Thanks to everyone!
The best method to solve this problem is using dedicated tools.
The most simple method is saving the image file an non-DICOM format.
Sincerely!

2 Likes