How to calculate the surface area from 3D fetal MRI, then convert to Python

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to both Python and 3D Slicer, but I am trying to calculate the surface area of the human placenta through 3D Slicer and then convert this into Python code for an automatic calculation of the placental surface area. I have a data set of NIfTI files of already segmented placentas, but I’m unsure how to get the surface area through 3D Slicer. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

Here’s my update:

• I’ve rendered the 3D volume in the top right corner through Volume Rendering
  • I’ve added my segment under Segment Editor
  • I’ve applied only the ‘Closed Surface Statistics’ option under Segment Statistics after choosing my segment as my input, but I am not given the surface area for some reason - this is where I’m currently stuck

You need to have closed surface representation to compute “Closed surface statistics”. You can compute it by clicking the “Show 3D” button in Segment Editor module or by choosing “Create closed surface representation” in the right-click menu in Data module.

I would not recommend using Volume Rendering module for 3D rendering of a segmentation because it does not do an accurate reconstruction of the original smooth, continuous surface, but it just shows each voxel as a cube. Instead, load the file as a segmentation (choose Segmentation in “Add data” window’s “Description” column) and then create the closed surface representation to see it in 3D.

Thank you, it worked!

1 Like

Would you know how to create a Python code resembling how to calculate surface area similar to 3D Slicer?

You can run any Python code in Slicer. You can use all Slicer application features and any other Python packages. What is your overall goal?