How to computer normals from a Model

Hi, everybody.

I am a software engineer who also designs tracheostomy tubes for my medical advocacy clients (Paraclete Advocacy, Ontario, Canada) and have found Slicer extremely helpful, both to create new tube designs (with the help of SolidWorks and Blender) and also to do virtual insertions of trach tube models into DICOM data from CAT scans and to measure scanned tubes.

I’ve been trying to “up my game” by going less by “look and feel” and becoming more precise and repeatable by automating portions of my workflow. One such example is producing normal vectors at the proximal and distal centerlines of candidate trach tube designs.

Surprise surprise, ChatGPT got it right this time. This snippet of code allowed me to take a point set csv from a trach tube manufacturer representing the centerline of a manufactured tube, and via the CurveMaker extension, allow me to wrap the centerline with a curvy cylinder and then save it as a model.

The following script allowed me to create a complete set of normals for every point in the model (I only really needed normals form the top/bottom faces but this worked as well). The normals came in as a separate object that I could display/hide at will from my data view. I was able to quickly measure the proposed tube shape and compare it against the design that I had created that ultimately caused the manufacturer to generate the shape.

For the first time ever using the Python Interactor, I have to say it was a wonderful experience with a little help from ChatGPT. I have industry experience with Python development but since this work is not billable, I hadn’t delved too far into slicer Python handshaking. This was a really nice working introduction that I wanted to share, since it helped me serve a client with more accuracy than in the past.

Medical GPT