How to do the segmentation of ribcage including the Costal cartilage?

Hi everyone
It is my first time using 3D slicer along with its tools, mainly for learning the segmentations of ribcages, and heart structures with the aforementioned tools and those in the extensive section(i.e Nvidia AIAA, wrap solidify and logical operator)

Our teacher told us 2 ways:

1. Crop volume - Threshold - Segment editor (Scissors, Island, smoothing etc) then export files

2. Go to logical operators first and invert and apply. (Cancel bypass marking)
    Go to “Wrap solidify” - "Largest cavities, split cavities to about 10 mm) and create a new segment
    Go back to logical operators to invert back
    Go to Nvidia AIAA to find and delete the livers, spleen, tumors etc from the ribcage
    Do the rest of the segmenting as the 1st method

I have tried both methods but got stuck since the requested ribcage is a perfect model

But, the ribcage that I segmented lacks the cartilage and the “Island” section seems to become

Question:

1. What is the best way to do a model of the ribcage and are there places to be aware of
  2. Is there an automatic ribcage segmentation tool or is that the 2 method that was mentioned above e
  3. What steps might be missing in the ribcaged that was tried?

Thank you for the help and tips!

Did you try localThreshold on segmentEditor extra effects? And the some scissors maybe?

What’s the difference between the Normal Threshold and localThreshold?

LocalThreshold uses a combination of threshold and region growing

Hi!
I have a question on the process of Ribcage segmentation.
Given the picture below(haven’t completed yet), there are some gaps in the ribs (Left side) as seen which are attached to the sternum

Question:

1. Are there tools that can be used to fill in the gaps of the ribs (Extensions etc) and how should I do it