How to make the edge of the segment smoother?

Hi,

I am a new intern, and my boss requires me to make the edge/border of a segment looks smooth. I am trying to have segment of Aorta. He calls it something like contour/mesh. Right now, the border looks very rough (like connected squares/pixels),

I tried to use Smoothing in Segment Editor, but it only makes the 3D model look smooth. On other three views, the border of the segment looks very rough. Since it is like pixels, the border will leak out or will not reach actually border seen on the CT images.

Moreover, he also wants me to search for any tools to create contour/mesh which is like the mask/segmentation, but you can drags the border around to fit the CT images. It is like polygon, where you can just modify the edge to have the shape you like.

I really appreciate if someone can help me with this.

To get started, I would recommend to complete all Segmentation tutorials.

To give some more specific answers:

You can use Crop volume to crop and resample your input volume to have smaller voxels and so less blocky contours in slice views. You can also choose to display contours in slice views from the 3D closed surface representation of the segmentation (Segmentations module / Display / Advanced / Representation in 2D views: Closed surface).

Probably you mean something like Surface cut effect. You need to install SegmentEditorExtraEffects extension to make this effect available in the Segment editor.

Hi,

Thank you for your response. I just followed your instructions and installed SegmentEditorExtraEffects extension. However, I do not see option to create masked volume after the surface cut. I wonder if I need the nightly version to have the function. I am using version 4.8.1 right now.

Mask volume is a separate effect. Create the mask using Surface cut or other effects and then apply it as a mask on a volume using Mask volume effect.

Good afternoon,

I did that successfully. Thank you.