How to save the volume pixel data in display area?

Hi all, i am new to this open source software. Here is the thing i want to do.

1.Open a volume, in volume rendering module,we can see an opaque cube(300x300x400 volume pixel)

1. Use kinds of filters to make the image in the cube clear

2. Now,we need to save the image in the display area,that is processed image.Click the save button,however the .vtk format file is still the raw data.

I think the processed image in display area is available in some RAM memory.So, is there any way to save the new values of voxel instead of the sequence of opacity filters that we applied to change the image(Scene).
By the slicer.util based on python, I can use the getNode and arrayFromVolume method to get the raw data(three dimensional numpy array).Sadly, I haven’t find any existing interface to access the display area data.
Alternatively can I access display graphical card memory and save that information in the same *vtk format typical for 3D images?But I prefer to save the pixel value array directly if possible.

I will be very grateful if anyone can give me any possible advice :grinning:

Do you just need an image of it for display? If so you can use the ScreenCapture module to get images or a movie of the rendering.

Actually not, what I need is the new pixel value data after mapping.

The original voxels are never converted, only the sampled values along the viewing ray. Samples can be more or less dense than the original spacing, rays are usually terminated before getting across the whole volume, and you don’t need huge extra storage to store the transformed samples, so generally you would not want to transform each original voxel value.

If you want to do it anyway, then you can compute lookup tables from the scalar opacity, color, gradient opacity transfer functions (available in the volume property node) and apply the lookup tables using numpy (np.take).

1 Like

Thank you very much for your ideas.