How to segment blood vessels from bones?

Hi, I’m quite new to this field so I kinda lost in here.

I’m trying to do blood vessel segmentation and center-line extraction from 3D CT images (DICOM format).
(chest, abdomen, leg CTs usually)

So far, below is what I could do almost everything by hand: I first used threshold to segment bones & vessels from the others and then manually erased bones for every slice so that only vessels are segmented.

I want to do this automatically as much as possible, and the first problem for me is how to get rid of bones away in a smarter way after thresholding. (Although there might be many problems to solve)

Is there any good way to do it?

• The CT image that I have is acquired using contrast agent and I know what it is from the image files.
    Can I use that information for segmenting between vessels and bones?
  • Or is there any good algorithm that is already implemented so that I can readily use for this purpose?

I have been desperately looking for examples with similar problems but in all the examples that I could found there were no bones in the problem and thus segmentation was done somewhat simply.
(one of the examples I found: [https://youtu.be/DJ2032yo5Co])

I tried vesselness filtering in the VMTKExtension for the 3D Slicer, but what I get was like below.

Could you give me some advice on this?

• Is this behavior normal? (= Is vesselness filtering not good to separate between vessels and bones?)
  • Or, can I get clear result if I use it correctly?
    (Actually, I don’t know what it actually does and how to use it, as I couldn’t find documentation on this)

Thank you very much for any help and thoughts :slight_smile:

Thanks for the detailed and well illustrated description of your question!

I’d keep trying with VMTK, it is for this very purpose. If you put the seed point inside the vessel, then it shouldn’t go out and grow a region within the bones as we can see in the second screenshot.