I want to get the surface of a MRI volume

Hello,

I’m intern engineer in biomedical lab and I’m new with 3D Slicer and 3D visualization / 3D imaging.

I am currently working on MRI data of brains and I’m interesting only in the information located at the brain surface (blood vessels at the brain surface, lobes, sulcus). To be more accurate, I would like to project this 3D surface into a 2D plan in order to do some image processing on it.

Do you have any idea on how I can extrat the surface from my nifti datas with 3D Slicer?

Thank you very much

You may be able to use freesurfer for your project, since it projects each brain hemisphere to a sphere and I think they can project to a plane too. You would need several steps if your mri isn’t already in a form freesurfer supports, but SynthSR is good for that. Also freesurfer only does the brain part, so you would need to also segment the surface vessels another way, perhaps by thresholding near the surface as extracted by freesurfer. The links below might help.

Thank you very much, I’ll investigate these links. About the segmentations : we’re not approaching segmentation by machine learning/deep learning.

The idea would be :

• from a nifti data, extract the surface points (I guess it’s possible with slicer ) and withdraw useless information (inside of the brain)
  • rotate the camera to a given plan looking at the region of the surface we want to observe
  • project this surface into the camera plan

I would like to obtain a 2D image of my surface before using a segmentation of vessels on it. Since I don’t need an accurate segmentation, simple morphological tools should be enough (I use T1 MRI where the blood vessels are hypersignal). My biggest issue is to extract the surface points of my MRI volume.