Improve segmentation : "Paint" and "Erase" (or "Scissors") effects in Segment Editor or Sphere brush?

Good afternoon,

First of all, thanks a lot to the one that is going to read my message !
I am currently an intern doing the segmentation of an organ on 3D Slicer (I am so new on 3D Slicer).
However, I have some problems by improving this segmentation…

From scanner volume in dicom and after image treatments, I have a “vtkMRMLScalarVolumeNode” which represents my organ segmented in white with a grey background.
I would like to add some pixels that have been erased by mistake to my segmentation and also erase some pixels that are in my segmentation by mistake…
After trying different techniques, I think that “Segment editor” with “Paint” and “Erase” could do the job perfectly.

However, these two effects don’t have any “self().onApply()” function so I can’t set the result in my segmentation.
I have tried so many different ways to do this but unfortunately nothing works…
Currently, I have written that on my python script :

segmentEditorWidget.setActiveEffectByName(“Paint”)
effect = segmentEditorWidget.activeEffect()
effect.SetParameter(“Paint, sphere”, “1”) # Agir en 3D sur image
segmentEditorWidget = None
slicer.mrmlScene.RemoveNode(segmentEditorNode)
segmentationNode.CreateClosedSurfaceRepresentation()

However, I don’t succeed in :

• Open “Segment Editor” as a little window in the foreground with my module extension in the background
    (my code generates that the “Segment editor” window appears as fast as it disappears…)
  • “Paint” on my segmented organ
  • Save the paint pixels as if they become part of my segmented organ
  • Get my new segmentation upgraded

As a consequence, I have the same problems with “Erase” and “Scissors” effects…
I hope that I have been clear a little bit
It would be so grateful if someone could help me !
Thanks a lot in advance
Laura

You can embed a segment editor widget directly into your module’s user interface.