Creating a basic Paint Foreground and Paint Background Tool

Hi,
I am new to 3D Slicer.
I am trying to implement an interactive segmentation tool for correcting issues in existing segmentation labels. The expected behaviour of this tool is to have “background” and “foreground” paint brushes, so any issues in existing segmentation labels can be corrected by painting over the viewed data.

What I intend to implement is a basic extension that provides two buttons (one for background and another for foreground). When foreground is selected, the paint tool should paint in a specific color (e.g. green). For background the paint tool should paint a different color (e.g. red). In the python script I will access the masks for each and save for corrected label processing through a logic.

I have looked around and into the Segment Editor Widget. However I am unsure about what is the best way to implement a simple gui that can allow user to switch between foreground/background paints (and corresponding segmentation layers), while still providing the ability to click and interact with the data.

I would be very grateful if you can provide with any material that can help me in implementing the above flow. Many thanks!

Hi -

If I understand your goal right it may already be available via the ‘w’ key, that cycles through the segments.

https://slicer.readthedocs.io/en/latest/user_guide/modules/segmenteditor.html?highlight=shortcuts#keyboard-shortcuts

For correcting segmentations, you may also find useful the “Color smudge” option in Paint effect. When enabled, clicking on any segment and dragging it into an empty region or into another segment will overwrite that region with the selected segment.

Hi Andras,