kruvi: crowdfunding Slicer extension development

Dear all,

I am a dentist and software engineer and have been successfully using Slicer over the past few years to plan simple dental implant surgeries and, in combination with 3D modelling packages, design surgical guides. And for that, I would like to thank the Slicer community for all their hard work. However, this workflow is pretty complex and time consuming at the moment.

I believe that by extending Slicer and Blender, this workflow could become usable by clinicians and researchers alike. To see whether there is any interest from the community, I am launching a crowdfunding campaign for the development of the required extensions. If successful, it would allow us (I am the co-founder of a startup company doing dental software development) to allocate a developer full-time to this project. All the details are available at:

https://bthbdental.com/kruvi

As mentioned there, only if the minimum goal is reached will we accept funds. We have not set a minimum contribution amount, as we know research groups each have their own budget limits.

If you know someone else who might be interested in this project, please help spread the word.

If you have any questions or suggestions, please do not hesitate to either contact me directly or write to kruvi@bthbdental.com.

Kind regards,

Mihai Tarce
Co-founder BTHB Dental

Thanks for the praise. Slicer is a community effort and the credits should go to everyone making it happen :+1:

The documentation and plan you outlined are outstanding. Thanks for sharing them.

@bpaniagua 's team, who is leading the SlicerCMF effort, will reach out to you to discuss potential collaboration.

Cc: @Jared_Vicory @laurapascal @Andinet_Enquobahrie