Learning to use 3D Slicer

I’m an absolute beginner, and find the ‘Quick Start’, for example, not very useful, to begin, as I have no idea how the system is organised, what a ‘Module’ is, what a ‘Scene’ is, and the UI… there is a UI section, but it is way down the list, and should probably have at least a subset included before the quick start.
Without any idea of the structure of this ‘world’, and connections between its parts, the Quick Start just confuses me…
Because of my current Neuro condition, I can’t quite manage to be as constructive as I’d like to be, but there needs to be some kind of structured way to understand the system’s ‘components’, before jumping into it.
It’s super exciting to imagine what can be done, even by a rank amateur, but it’s so, so hard to get started.

Hello,

Welcome to the forum and the world of 3D Slicer.
Maybe the easiest way to dive into the program is to watch one of the video tutorials.

Here is a link to the start of a good video series (give it thumbs up, referring to Slicer 4 but most of it is still valid):

In case you have questions, please search this forum for specific keywords, only in case you do not find results, start a new thread.

1 Like

thanks…i had a look at the first three of the series, and made several comments, because there were several things that got skipped over, and things that ‘just happened’, without it being clear to novices… the tutorial II looks a bit different, so I’ll need to look more closely.
Thx

1 Like

My 2 cents.