Load TBSS output files into Slicer?

Hello,

I have been using FSL’s TBSS to compare the FA, RD, and AD values of two different groups. The result of this analysis is a single statistics file which is in the NIFTI format (.nii.gz), highlighting voxels that are significantly different between the two groups in terms of FA/RD/AD. I am trying to load this into Slicer, to create a diagram similar to this one, but I’m very new to the software. Could someone help me out? Is there a way to load TBSS output data into Slicer?

Thank you!

Hi! In general it should be possible to load nifti files in Slicer. Could you let us know what steps you followed and what happened? There are tutorials for loading data here:
https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/4.10/Training

An alternative solution might be to use MRIcroGL. It has far fewer features than Slicer, but it is a simple tool that might solve your task. Assuming you have MRIcroGL v1.2 the following script would create the following image (you would want to use the ‘mni152’ template if your data was normalized, and change spmMotor to the name of your statistical map).

import gl
gl.resetdefaults()
#open background image
gl.loadimage('spm152')
gl.overlayloadsmooth(1)
#open overlay: show positive regions
gl.overlayload('spmMotor')
gl.minmax(1, -2,-5)
gl.colorname(1,'8redyell')
gl.colorfromzero(1,1)
gl.cutout(0.5,0.6,0.5,0,1,1)
gl.shadername('OverlaySurface')
gl.backcolor(255,255,255)

But the rendering is cooler!

Thank you! I followed these instructions, but the output has some sort of strange cuboid tessellation pattern that I haven’t seen in other figures. Does this have something to do with the settings I’m using? Or, do you think it has to do more with the structure of the data? TBSS uses voxels for analysis, so perhaps those cuboid patterns are a result of that (?)

This looks very cool! I will test this out, as well. Thank you :slight_smile: