Loading nifti images into slicer in real time

Hello,
I am new to slicer and am just getting familiar with this powerful software. A big thanks to all who developed this and continue to support it.

I am working on a problem where I need to visualize images in slicer in ‘real time’ ie as they are coming in from a scanner. The images are being dropped into a local folder as nifti files. I need to load the newest image automatically into slicer as it comes in. Is there a way to do this ?

Thanks in advance.

You would normally use OpenIGTLink protocol for real-time image streaming from scanners. What software do you use for image acquisition, from what hardware?

Uncompressed nifti file reading could be quite fast, too, but polling the file system for changes might be difficult at high frame rates.

OpenIGTLink would be a good options, but depending on your OS a file system watcher can be efficient.

https://doc.qt.io/qt-5/qfilesystemwatcher.html

Another option is SlicerWeb where there is a rest endpoint for POSTing a nrrd file directly into a volume node, and that could be extended to handle nii as well.

1 Like

Thanks for your response, Andras. We are using a Philips MRI scanner and use Philips XTC protocol to get images in real time. Frame rates would be around ~1 3D volume/5 sec or 1 2D image/sec at the most.

Thanks for the suggestions , Steve. It’ll definitely take me some time to explore these options :slight_smile:

This is not a very demanding update rate, so using the file system for data transfer would most likely not lead to significant overhead.

However, OpenIGTLink was been developed exactly for this application (MRI image acquisition and scan plane control for Siemens MRI scanners for robot-assisted interventions) and has several advantages over a basic file-based communication, including: