LungCTAnalyzer and fibrosis quantification

May be I am wrong but it seems LungCTAnalyzer cannot be used to quantify lung fibrosis. Perhaps this feature will be added to the extension in the future. Fibrosis quantification will be very useful for many. I have read about some software for this purpose but either they are old or unavailable or not deployable on todays computers, like LUFIT and YACTA, or commercial and pricey, like IMBIO.

What do you want to see, which patterns are of special interest for you , what would you want to quantify in ml. Please make an anonymized dataset available so we could have a look at it in Slicer. You could also post some screenshots here where you think LCTA fails.

@rbumm

Dr. Bumm, thanks for responding. I am a novice and actually don’t know myself but was wondering if some expert had assessed LungCTAnalyzer for the purpose of quantifying fibrosis in ILD, IPF, etc. by measuring GGO, honeycombing, reticular density, etc. (CT pattern or texture analysis). E.g., is ‘infiltration’ identified by LungCTAnalyzer a good measure of GGO?

Below, I have copied some text about the method used by the CALIPER CT pattern analysis software that purports to quantify fibrosis.