New extension: RawImageGuess - for loading of images from unrecognized file format

There are proprietary image file formats the 3D Slicer does not recognize and so refuses to load. @nagy.attila in collaboration with Slicer core developers created an extension that can be used to load data from files that use an unknown format.

RawImageGuess extension offers a number of parameters (image header size, dimensions, pixel type, etc.) that users can adjust and see the resulting image in real-time. This makes it possible to guess the image format in a couple of minutes.

See a demo video that shows how to guess format of a Samsung .mvl 3D ultrasound image:

The extension is available in the extension manager for latest Slicer Preview Release.

4 Likes

It works for GE ultrasound images?

The extension should be able to handle any non-compressed raw data.

I have no experience with US images but can’t you export it in a format that Slicer recognizes?

You can also load a few types of GE ultrasound images by using SlicerHeart extension.

Hi
I am using Version 4.10.2 and looking for this extension but I am not finding it as per the pic.No RawImageGuess file

Please can you assist as I would like to access the extension.

RawImaeGuess module was released after Slicer 4.10.2. You need to use a recent Slicer Preview Release to access it.

Thank you, I am installing it now.

Hi there,

I have installed the new version and I tried to load the image, I just have a problem that on lower left it does not want to allow me to select Update, its just above the button to Generate NRRD Image Header.

What could be the issue?

I Also note that at the Output volume mine states Create New Volume and with yours it states Volume…

Please can you assist?Update and Generate

Update and Generate