[Newbie] Struggling with DICOM, MultiVolume and Sequences

Hi,

I would like first to thank you for this great and powerful open-source software! In a world where every postprocessing tool can cost a kidney, it is a relief to see people who care about improving and sharing research.

I’m an absolute newbie in Slicer, and although I’m used to many programming tools, I’m pretty lost in what I’m trying to do.

My goal: postprocessing DCE-MRI acquisitions

My materials:

• T1 mapping: 3 separate series with different flip angles
  • DCE: 1 series with different time frames
  • “late” DCE: 1 *separate" series corresponding to a late time frame of the DCE-MRI acquisition

My first problem: when using the T1 Mapping extension, I need an MRMLMultiVolume.

Regarding T1 Mapping, how can I “make” a MultiVolume from my separate series?
When I use the MultiVolume Importer, it only requires a folder. Even when I select a specific subfolder with the distinct three series, it does not produce a valid MRMLMultiVolume. The only thing that I succeeded in achieving was creating a sequence with three time points, but I can’t convert it to an MRMLMultiVolume.

When I try to post-process the DCE series, I have the same problem, as it does not produce a valid MultiVolume.

Some help?

Thanks! :slight_smile:

1 Like

MultiVolumeImporter should only be used if your input is a set of non-DICOM volumes. If you have a DICOM series with DCE or T1 sequence, you should import it into Slicer DICOM database, and load from DICOM browser as a multivolume. Depending on how the data was collected, you may see a single series corresponding to DCE acquisition, or you may have one timepoint per series. It is best to toggle “Advanced” checkbox in the DICOM browser, try Examine, and see if a multivolume is parsed from your DICOM content.

Thank you !

I didn’t know that MultiVolume Importer was for non-DICOM files. Maybe I should convert to NIfTII first ?