No images shown in slice viewers in latest preview release (Slicer-4.13.0)

Problem report for Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05 win-amd64: [please describe expected and actual behavior]

I am running Windows 10 on ASUS AiO desktop (Intel Core i5, RAM 16 GB, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050, updated drivers and application software). The loaded image is there - intensity values are displayed along with mouse cursor coordinates when moved over the viewers. The viewers brightness does not change, remains black when attempting to control it with mouse (left-click-and-drg in slice view).

What am I doing wrong? Please help.
Best,
Andrzej

[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Session start time …: 2020-10-06 19:15:08
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Slicer version …: 4.13.0-2020-10-05 (revision 29411 / ff8bc2b) win-amd64 - installed release
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Operating system …: Windows / Personal / (Build 19041, Code Page 65001) - 64-bit
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Memory …: 16318 MB physical, 18750 MB virtual
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - CPU …: GenuineIntel , 8 cores, 8 logical processors
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - VTK configuration …: OpenGL2 rendering, TBB threading
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Qt configuration …: version 5.15.1, with SSL, requested OpenGL 3.2 (compatibility profile)
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Developer mode enabled …: no
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Prefer executable CLI …: yes
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Application path …: C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/NA-MIC/Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05/bin
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:08 [] (unknown:0) - Additional module paths …: C:/Users/asus/AppData/Roaming/NA-MIC/Extensions-29411/SlicerRadiomics/lib/Slicer-4.13/cli-modules, C:/Users/asus/AppData/Roaming/NA-MIC/Extensions-29411/SlicerRadiomics/lib/Slicer-4.13/qt-scripted-modules
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:09 [Python] (C:\Users\asus\AppData\Local\NA-MIC\Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05\lib\Python\Lib\site-packages\pydicom\datadict.py:432) - Reversing DICOM dictionary so can look up tag from a keyword…
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:10 [Python] (C:\Users\asus\AppData\Roaming\NA-MIC\Extensions-29411\SlicerRadiomics\Lib\site-packages\pykwalify\compat.py:20) - Using yaml library: C:\Users\asus\AppData\Roaming\NA-MIC\Extensions-29411\SlicerRadiomics\Lib\site-packages\yaml_init_.py
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:10 [Python] (C:\Users\asus\AppData\Local\NA-MIC\Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05\lib\Slicer-4.13\qt-scripted-modules\SubjectHierarchyPlugins\AbstractScriptedSubjectHierarchyPlugin.py:36) - Scripted subject hierarchy plugin registered: Annotations
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:11 [Python] (C:\Users\asus\AppData\Local\NA-MIC\Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05\lib\Slicer-4.13\qt-scripted-modules\SubjectHierarchyPlugins\AbstractScriptedSubjectHierarchyPlugin.py:36) - Scripted subject hierarchy plugin registered: SegmentEditor
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:11 [Python] (C:\Users\asus\AppData\Local\NA-MIC\Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05\lib\Slicer-4.13\qt-scripted-modules\SubjectHierarchyPlugins\AbstractScriptedSubjectHierarchyPlugin.py:36) - Scripted subject hierarchy plugin registered: SegmentStatistics
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:11 [] (unknown:0) - Switch to module: “Welcome”
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:15 [Python] (C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/NA-MIC/Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05/bin/…/lib/Slicer-4.13/qt-scripted-modules/SampleData.py:373) -

Status: Idle


[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:15 [] (unknown:0) - Switch to module: “SampleData”
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [Python] (C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/NA-MIC/Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05/bin/…/lib/Slicer-4.13/qt-scripted-modules/SampleData.py:373) - Verifying checksum
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [Python] (C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/NA-MIC/Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05/bin/…/lib/Slicer-4.13/qt-scripted-modules/SampleData.py:373) - File already exists and checksum is OK - reusing it.
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [Python] (C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/NA-MIC/Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05/bin/…/lib/Slicer-4.13/qt-scripted-modules/SampleData.py:373) - Requesting load MRHead from C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/Temp/Slicer/RemoteIO/MR-head.nrrd …
[DEBUG][Python] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [Python] (C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/NA-MIC/Slicer 4.13.0-2020-10-05/bin/…/lib/Slicer-4.13/qt-scripted-modules/SampleData.py:373) - Load finished
[INFO][VTK] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [vtkMRMLVolumeArchetypeStorageNode (00000214C026BE60)] (D:\D\P\Slicer-0\Libs\MRML\Core\vtkMRMLVolumeArchetypeStorageNode.cxx:473) - Loaded volume from file: C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/Temp/Slicer/RemoteIO/MR-head.nrrd. Dimensions: 256x256x130. Number of components: 1. Pixel type: short.
[INFO][VTK] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [vtkMRMLScene (00000214C23B8940)] (D:\D\P\Slicer-0\Libs\MRML\Core\vtkMRMLScene.cxx:316) - vtkMRMLScene::Clear
[DEBUG][Qt] 06.10.2020 19:15:17 [] (unknown:0) - “Volume” Reader has successfully read the file “C:/Users/asus/AppData/Local/Temp/Slicer/RemoteIO/MR-head.nrrd” “[0.11s]”

Sorry for the inconvenience, we know about this issue (https://github.com/Slicer/Slicer/issues/5220). You need to use the Stable Release (version 4.11.20200930, revision 29402) for about 1-2 weeks, as we have upgraded Slicer’s rendering library and we need some time to fix all the issues.

@Sam_Horvath could we take down the preview release download links or add big red comments next to them telling that currently they are not usable?

Thank you very much for quick reply!
Andrzej

I’ll look at what I can do with the website.

I have opened a PR to mark the preview release as unstable:

1 Like

There is no working release that contains fixes introduced since Slicer-4.11.20209030. Users that need these fixes cannot do anything else than wait (see this example). This also prevents us from getting developments to users in two of our projects.

If fixing of this VTK issue needs more time then we need to do something else that would allow projects to move forward.
@jcfr @Sam_Horvath could we update the factory builds to use VTK8 for building the preview release? Or should we release a patch release for Slicer-4.11?

We can switch the builds to VTK8, I will touch base with JC on this.

I am going to switch the builds back to VTK8 now, will take effect for tonight’s preview.

2 Likes