Python interpreter encountered a "no OPENSSL_Applink" error

I am building a project on Windows, and the environment meets the requirements specified in the file. During the build process of most Python-related projects (like python-setuptools, python-pip, python-numpy, etc.), the error MSB8066 occurs. In the error logs for python-setuptools-install-err.txt (and other projects), the following message appears: OPENSSL_Uplink(00007FF9F1B53B30,08): no OPENSSL_Applink.

I tried rebuilding the Python interpreter, but it had no effect. The OpenSSL project itself did not show any errors. I also removed all other Python environments from my computer, including Anaconda, etc. However, the problem still persists.

Therefore, I am seeking your help here. Thank you very much! As I am just a college student who is new to this field and lack experience, please forgive me if my description is not up to standard.

Regarding the complete build log mentioned in the build document, I did not find it at the following address: <Slicer_BUILD>\Testing\Temporary\LastBuild_<date>-<time>.log. In fact, I don’t know why, but my Temporary folder is empty.

If the description I provided is insufficient, I am very sorry. Please let me know what additional information I need to provide.

Most likely some application dropped OpenSSL binaries in some system location. You can use sxstrace or maybe dependency walker to find the offending dll. See instructions here.

1 Like

Thank you for your help; I have resolved the issue mentioned earlier. :grinning:

I believe this problem arose because I had been studying cybersecurity and was using tools like Burp Suite, Wireshark, Acunetix, and other similar software for network packet capturing or related activities. It seems that one of these tools made some modifications to OpenSSL, which caused the issue I encountered.