Quantifying adjacent/touching segmentations-areas

Hi all,

I need some assistance regarding quantifying the surface areas of my segmentations. I have several segmentations of structures in close proximity and in certain places physical contact with oneanother. Is there a way to quantify the area where 2 segmentations meet? What I want is to be able to say is how many percent of segment A´s area is in contact with the surface of segment B and C.
NOTE: They do not overlap nor intersect, they are segmented to respect borders. I am no programmer and a very new 3D-slicer user, if there is a solution not requiring coding please let me know.
Thank you in advance.

I am not aware of a Slicer tool which will give you this exact answer. However, I can suggest a solution which will give you an approximate answer which may be usable for you and which does not require any coding.

• Make a copy of segment A (Logical operators → Copy in segment editor).
  • Expand the segment A copy (Margin–> Grow, by 1 voxel in each dimension). Be sure that the Masking Settings are set to allow overlap, or else this operation will overwrite the original Segment A and the areas of B and C that it expands into.
  • Subtract the original segment A from the expanded copy (Logical operators → Subtract), leaving just the new expanded shell. We are going to quantify the fraction of this shell which is inside B or inside C, which should be a pretty decent proxy for the fraction of surface area is in contact with each.
  • Make two additional copies of the segment A expanded shell (create new segment, Logical operators → copy, repeat). On the first copy, find the intersection with segment B (Logical operators → Intersect); on the second, find the intersection with segment C.