Real-time distance measurement between the needle tip and target with PlusToolkit and 3D Slicer

Operating system:
Slicer version:
Expected behavior:
Actual behavior:

I’m a newbie in 3d Slicer and amazed its functionality. Great work!

I’m looking for the solution to dynamically measure the distance between the needle tip and the target by using the electromagnetic tracking device in 3d space. Within the PlusServer, I can track the needle in Slicer. Would be possible to make the measurement in real-time by using the PlusToolkit within the Slicer? If so, can you suggest, what should be done?
Thank you!

You can put two Markups Fiducials in the two coordinate systems (under the NeedleTipToReference and TargetToReference transforms), manually set their position to (0,0,0), then calculate their position when either of the parent transforms are modified (connect to the Modified event). Where would you like to display that distance? It sounds to me like you’d want a very simple module. A few lines of python code should do the trick. Unless there is already a module that can do it that I’m not aware of…

Thank you for the quick response! Actually I want to display the distance in 3d viewer. You’re right - i would like to use a very simple module. Could you suggest, what should be written in python?

Once you reached this state for markups and transforms (this shows the Data module)
(make sure the markups each have one fiducial at origin)
then you can get the distance between them like this:

f=getNode('F')
f1=getNode('F_1')
fp=[0]*4
f.GetNthFiducialWorldCoordinates(0,fp)
f1p=[0]*4
f1.GetNthFiducialWorldCoordinates(0,f1p)
import math
d=math.sqrt((f1p[0]-fp[0])**2 + (f1p[1]-fp[1])**2 + (f1p[2]-fp[2])**2)