Remove unwanted region from slices to create 3D Model

Hi,

I am new to Slicer, I am using the Visible Human project data Cryosection images to build a 3D model with all the possible anatomical details.

The problem is, each slice is placed in a bounded region/platform, which are obviously being transferred to the 3D model when I stack up the images(Vector to Scalar volume conversion). It is creating an issue and frankly defeats the purpose. I can remove some parts of it by clipping of the edges of the volume, but I guess that’s only for visualization purposes.

Can you please guide me on how to totally remove them?

You can blank out regions in a volume using “Mask volume” effect in Segment Editor, but I’m not completely sure if this is what you need.

Can you explain what issue it creates? What is the purpose that it defeats?

I’m afraid that this is an impossible task. There is no such thing as a perfect segmentation. You need a very specific goal of exactly what details you need to extract, with what accuracy. If you don’t have a well-defined stopping criteria (what is good enough) then you take on a never-ending job.

I see that how the Visible Human data sets could appear as the ultimate atlas, but the images are too low quality for most applications. Its the resolution is very low by today’s standards and they lack details that you can get from more specialized imaging protocols.

There are a few segmentations of the data set, for example by Voxel-Man. If you find that the Visible Human data sets are good enough for you then you might use the voxel-man segmentation as a starting point (although there could be limitations due to licensing).

Hi,

Sorry for the confusion.