Segmentation algorithm used in 3D Slicer

Hi,

I’m using 3D Slicer for tooth segmentation and I’ve created an stl model from ct scan (DICOM).
I’ve done that using Segment editor module.

Can someone tell me which segmentation algorithm is used in slicer to create an stl model from ct scan?

I don’t understand the question. You said you did all that. Am I misunderstanding something?

If you mean which algorithms are used for generating closed surface from binary labelmap representation of the segmentation: see implementation here. In short: vtkDiscreteFlyingEdges3D followed by vtkWindowedSincPolyDataFilter, vtkDecimatePro (optional), and vtkPolyDataNormals.

I need to write some theory about image segmentation and the things I’ve done in 3D Slicer. Since I used thresholding, I wanted to know the names of algorithms you used in implementation ( eg. k-means clustering).
I’m a student and new to this so I don’t understand this very well. It will be very helpfull if you could give me the names of some algorithms you used. Hope you understand what I’m trying to say.

Thank you @lassoan , I think you get my point. So, you used marching cubes algorithm and flying edges? I need to write something about this algorithms and I really want to write about algorithms that are implemented in slicer.

We did not use matching cubes. We used flying edges algorithm instead because it is faster. You can find description of the methods at the associated links.

1 Like

I see, thanks! Andras gave you the details, but if you’re looking for some text, then I can send you my PhD thesis in which these are described in detail (it will be publicly accessible in a few weeks but I can send you an unofficial copy).

1 Like

Thank you, that was really helpful!

@lassoan @cpinter
Hi, I have another problem. I have done tooth segmentation and I extracted two stl files, tooth crown and root .