Slicer 5.6 not starting with custom extension

Hello,

A year ago I developped a custom extension as part of an internal project on 3D Slicer 4.11.
At the time, I managed to transfer to Slicer 5.0 without issues and use the extension on this version too. The project finished and I haven’t updated the extension since then. However, I had to re-install it recently and I tried to do so on Slicer 5.6. When I try to start it with the extension installed, the software seem to fall in an infinite starting loop, telling me that the computer lacks the graphic capabilities to start it. And I can’t close it with the task manager either, it just reboots everytime I close it.

I am not a programmer and the extension is not very well made, but I wanted to know if you have any idea on what might cause this problem, and what I can do to solve it.
Or if it’s not feasible, how I could download Slicer 5.0 to use it on this version of the software.

Thank you in advance !

@Vincebisca, what type of modules were included in the extension (C++ loadable, Python, CLI)?

When you say “transfer” do you mean manually copying the module files from one Slicer installation to another? Have you tried to build your extension against Slicer 5.6? Moving binary files generated using Slicer 4.11 to a 5.6 installation (or for that matter, pointing Slicer’s 5.6 paths to modules generated with 4.11) is something I would expect producing the errors you describe.

Generally speaking, moving Slicer backwards to fit one specific extension is not a good idea as you will miss on bug fixes, new features, etc. On the long term it does not even look very sustainable as Slicer is very dynamic and changes rapidly. A much better approach would be to build your extension against a new Slicer and update the extension.

I hope this helps.

Hello @RafaelPalomar , thank you for your reply !