Slicer crashing before running out of memory

First off, thanks Murat and Andras for all your work in developing this program and offering so much help to the community in using it!

I’ve been using slicer for a few years to do micro-CT scans of bones, largely without issue. However, lately I’ve started working with DICE-CT images and have been increasingly running into issues where the computer crashes while there still appears to be plenty of RAM available.
For reference, I am running a Windows 11 system with 128gb of memory as well as a good processor and graphics card (24GB of RAM on the card).

Here is a link to one of the datasets that has given me trouble:
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1iSmk92HOYNRLLgk7SIuiC3D6YI9RCdtQ?usp=sharing

I also included two log files of examples of times when the program crashed. Every time it crashes there is no record of the crash in the log files as far as I can tell, but I might just not be seeing it.

I have had issues at many points in the process. It has crashed when segmenting (specifically when using the flood fill tool with “show 3D” turned off). It has also crashed when I tried the “create models from visible segments” option. And finally, it sometimes crashes when I try to load the MRML scene file.

Throughout all of this I have been able to monitor my memory usage, and the RAM is never full when it crashes. It has often been crashing when I am using ~80GB of RAM, but sometimes it is higher or lower.

I updated all of my drivers and ran diagnostics on the memory sticks, but none of it indicates any hardware problems or helps the issue. I know that the file is pretty large, but I’m nowhere near maxing out my hardware so I’m not sure why that would be a problem.

Thanks for any thoughts or suggestions!
Dave