Substract a 3d model from another model

I have two 3d skull models of the same patient. I want to align them perfectly and create a model that would be their difference (skull defect).
Is this possible?

Please do not post screen capture with PHI on them.

As for your question, you can use the logical operation in the segment editor.

I edited the images. Thank you for noting it. As for the subtraction, the models are created from different ct scans and they are not aligned. I have reached this point. Is there any way to align them?

new

I tried to align them manually with transform. Is there an easier way?

new2

You can use the Fiducial Registration in SlicerIGT extension and use landmark sets across these to models to align them better than just using manual transforms.

I think there is a segment registration module that is built on Elastix that may help you. BUt I have no experience with that.

2 Likes

Manual landmark-based registration that @muratmaga recommended is a good approach that is guaranteed to work well for every case, and it as accurate as your point placement is.

If that does not work well for you for some reason then Slicer has many other registration methods. To narrow down the problem a bit we would need to know more about your constraints and requirements. How much time do you have for registration - few seconds, 1-2 minutes, 1-2 hours, or no specific time limit? How many image pairs you need to register - a few, dozens, or hundreds? How much error is tolerable - 0.1mm, about 1mm, or up to few mm?