Troubleshooting Extension Build Process - Manually Building an Extension

Hello all. There is quite a bit of documentation on building extensions available, but admittedly I’m a novice programmer and am having some trouble understanding a few of the steps and am looking for some guidance.

I have used the extension wizard to build and extension and am in the process of going through the “publishing an extension” checklist" and would like to manually build an extension to test it as documented here.
A. I’m trying to follow the steps listed under " Build your own set of extensions against Slicer trunk build tree" and running into problems. I do not understand the prerequisit "2. Slicer trunk has been checkout into /path/to/Slicer-master and built into /path/to/Slicer-master-SuperBuild-Release
What exactly does this mean? I’m having trouble understanding the goal here.

B. Also, the code block specifies “export SLICER=${HOME}/slicer4/latest/Slicer”… I am working on a mac and the default installation location, I believe, is “export Slicer_DIR=/Users/Applications/Slicer.app”… Is this the appropriate location for this variable, or should it be export “Slicer_DIR=/Users/Applications/Slicer.app/Contents/MacOS/Slicer”? (I think this is an incredibly simple question but I’m having trouble googling it)

C. Is a test manual build really even necessary if I have a .s4ext file “ready” (but not tested) and have otherwise completed the majority of the checklist?

I will likely have more questions but this is probably a fine place to start.

This just means you have a built version of Slicer. It is the same as described at Windows — 3D Slicer documentation. Do you have a built version of Slicer already? Based on your “B)” section I’m thinking not. Is your extension C++ based modules or python based modules?