Ultrasound and CT image fusion

Greetings.

My name is Augustine, A medical Physicist from Zambia. Iam working on trying to fuse US images with CT and I have a lot of questions. My area of interest is the pelvic region (the cervix) in particular.

I have gone through a few videos on US registration just to get familiar with the software. I hope you can help me

Many thanks

Augustine

Hi there! Yes we’ll help as we can :slight_smile:

Feel free to ask your questions one by one.

Is your ultrasound data a 3D reconstructed volume from tracked ultrasound?

Hi Pinter :slight_smile:
I am very new to 3DSlicer. The following are the details of the Ultrasound machine
Brand: Haiyang
Model: Digital color doppler, ultrasonic diagnostic system. It is a 3D ultrasound machine.

My first question: How do I verify that PLUS is properly installed? Upon watching a few videos, I notice with some versions, “remote plus” can be accessed from IGT. I cannot see “remote plus” via IGT when I launch 3Dslicer on my laptop. However I do have plus server launcher from start up menu.

I have not even started data acquisition yet. Which would be easier to fuse? 3D data or frames?

First of all make sure that you use the latest nightly Slicer version and the latest Plus. Then install the SlicerIGT and SlicerOpenIGTLink extensions from the Extension Manager. The Plus Remote module will appear in the IGT category.

I don’t have experience with 3D ultrasound machines and their data but I guess that would be preferred to frames, because if you acquire frames then you’ll need to use an external position tracker, which seems unnecessary given that you have the 3D US machine.