Using Monai Label in 3DSlicer for Medical Student Research Project

Hello,

I am a medical student with no computer science background looking for some help with using Monai Label with 3D slicer. My main issue is with connecting to the Monai Server.

I was able to follow a tutorial online and use anaconda terminal to download the monai pip package, connect to the server and then was able to run the model on the test data and segment out the spleen CT. But was wondering if there is a more permanent way to download Monai Label Radiology instead of having to do it every time from the terminal. I am a bit confused in the workflow to generate labeled scans without having to go through the download process and server activation every time. Any insight would be very helpful, I have gotten confused trying to understand the technical aspects of this program.

For background, I am a medical student working on a research project to calculate surface areas of organs from CT scans, this would ideally be automated by a model such as Monai Label Radiology. Thank you in advance.

MONAI Label is a very powerful environment but may not be strictly needed for your project, or at least not be the ideal place to start. DId you look at TotalSegmentator and Auto3DSeg? I believe they will give you spleen segmentations pretty easily and you could focus on calculating surface areas (which might also be mostly automatic, but you may need to review/fix the results to match your protocols).

1 Like

Hi Steve, Thank you for your quick response. I had not look at either but just downloaded the Auto3DSeg module to try it out and yes it is much easier to use and seems like it will work for my purposes. Thank you! I went into a hole on MonaiLabel and it seems to be out of my technical ability range.