Visualize .igs.mha tracked ultrasound sequence in 3D

Hi! I am new to the Slicer and I am trying to visualize some seqeunce file examples shared in PlusDataLib repository.
While I load the SpineUltrasound-Lumbar-C5.igs.mha as Sequence Metafile into the Sequence browser, it displays well in the 2D window. Since I noticed that every frame inside this sequence file has a corresponding transformation (ReferenceToTrackerTransform), I was expecting the 3D window could show the different spatial position of each frame. However, the frames showed in the 3D window (right most) tends to have a fixed location: frames does not move based on different transformation matrix.
SpineUltrasound
In fact, I was expecting some visualization effects like this:
UltrasoundToolGuidance3dOnly
How can I visualize the frames sequence while each frame is posed on its corresponding transformation? Thank you so much for your time!

There can be lots of transforms in a .igs.mha file and you have several choices for reference transform. To specify these, apply a ImageToX (ImageToReference, ImageToRAS, …) to the image and make a selected slice view move with the image by using “Volume reslice driver” module.

These are all described in detail in SlicerIGT tutorials. Let us know if something is not clear.

Thank you very much! I checked SlicerIGT tutorials and “Tracked ultrasound visualization in 3D Slicer” solved my problem!

1 Like

Hello Dr. Lasso! Since last time I have been trying to convert our own data into the .mha type of images for visualization in Slicer. After checking the SlicerIGT tutorials, a new problem just came to me: I am not sure what the “Reference” means in “ImageToReferenceTransform”. Could you please help shed some light on that? Thank you so much!

You can choose any coordinate system as reference. ImageToReferenceTransform defines origin, axes directions, and spacing of the image in that coordinate system. See examples here:

Thank you Dr. Lasso!