VMTK toolkit is too different to the available tutorial

Operating system: MacOS
Slicer version: 4.10.1
Expected behavior: filtering the vessels.
Actual behavior:

hello All,
I am new in Slicer and working with Slicer 4.10.1 and trying to go ahead with the example prepared in the available tutorial. For the Vesselness Filtering part, it is toooo different from the tutorial. I tried to filter the vessels by adjusting the variables but nothing happened. There is no “millimeter” option anymore and I do not have any clue about voxels. would you please direct me how to set all the parameters matter in this part of VMTK toolkit? I have attached the picture showing where I am.

The minimum vessel diameter and maximum vessel diameter parameters correspond to the min and max dimensions of the vascular structures that you want to enhance. You can access the voxel size information in mm (Image Spacing) in the module Volumes.

The Vessel Contrast parameter corresponds to the contrast between the vascular structures and the background. The Suppress Plates and Suppress Blobs parameters let you choose the geometric shape of the vascular structures that you want to filter out (e.g. vessels vs aneurysms).

Note that by default you don’t need to specify vessel diameter manually. If you specify a seed point and the “Compute vessel diameters and contrast from seed point” button is depressed then vessel diameters and contrast are computed automatically from the seed point that you have specified.

Automatic diameter detection only works reliably when there are no other structures of similar intensity nearby, so you may want to adjust the values manually. You can either compute the value as Sonia described above, or try different values and click Preview to see if it improved the results.

1 Like