Volume rendering shows solid black cube only

Hello,

I have a quick question as I am new to slicer and it might just be a simple error.

I have created a stack of tiff files and managed to load them onto slicer and then adjust the image spacing so that there a full picture from each view.

The problem comes in when I want to create a volume rendering to show the bones of the specimens in the scan. When I click on the ‘eye’ button to view the volume rendering all I get is a solid black cube and nothing of what is in the scan.

I have tried adjusting the threshold and the shift but to no avail. It still only shows black. No bones. I also tried different presets to get the bones to show with no luck again.

I first tested myself on one of the samples that I could download (the chest cavity) and I managed to do that just fine. Everything worked perfectly.

Could you please advise on where I could be going wrong.

Thank you an much appreciated. :slight_smile:

I’d try selecting different presets and then play with the shift slider.

What’s the scalar range of your images?

Tiff files might contain vector (RGB color) images that you need to convert to grayscale (single-component scalar) volume. See details here: https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Modules/VolumeRendering#Module_Description

Thanks. So I tried the different presets and the shift slider. Still no luck.

I am not sure where to check the scalar ranges. Sorry, like I said I am very new to all of this.

Thanks. I had a look and it says my files are scalar and grey scale.

The one thing I did notice between the sample and my files when looking at the three different views…for the sample when I move the slider it cuts through the sample like it shows one slice at a time. When I move the slider on my files it rotates the whole image and does not cut through. I hope that makes sense.

Not sure if that means anything but thought I would mention it.