Volumes vs models vs segmentations

Hey everyone,
I’m new to slicer and I am a bit confused about all the different possible types of 3D data.

Terms used in the documentation and tutorial videos are volumes, models, and segmentations, as well as labelmaps, volumetric ROIs, subtraction maps, segmentation nodes, markups and masks. Is there documentation on what the differences between especially the first three are?

For example, some modules I have tried to segment the skull in an MRI image give me a volume, others give me a segmentation. Why and what does that mean to me in practice?

I seem unable to find information on this and other problems I have with 3D slicer. Am I using the wrong strategy (e.g. googling ‘3d slicer subtraction maps’)?

Thanks for any kind of help,
Jens

1 Like

These are the basic data types in Sicer:

• Volume: 3D array of voxels, such as CT, MRI, PET, … images. It has a few subtypes, such as:
    • scalar volume: each voxel store a continuous value, such as intensity or density value
    • labelmap volume: each voxel value stores a discrete value, for example an index of a color in a color table; this can store segmentations (index value refers to segment number)
    • vector volume: each voxel contains a vector, can be used to store color images, displacement fields, etc.
  • Model: surface mesh (such as an STL file), or volumetric mesh (such as a tetrahedral mesh for finitie element analysis)
  • Segmentation: stores a segmentation a.k.a. ROI, mask, contour. It can have various representations internally (binary labelmap, closed surface, etc.) and can be easily converted
  • Markups: points, lines, angles, curves, planes, etc. defined typically by a set of control points

@jcfr it would be great if you could set up ReadTheDocs for documentation - I would add the above information to an documentation page there.

3 Likes

Here’s a page that could help. The figure on the bottom helps understand which data type takes part of which step.