Add Slicer Nightly to Homebrew (macOS)

Hi all,

I am doing a fresh install of my OS and realized how powerful brew is. I checked whether I could install Slicer with it and discovered that only the stable version is available:

brew cask install slicer

I thought it would be convenient to be able to install the nightly build, so I took the liberty to submit a PR to homebrew-versions. I hope you’re ok with that. If it’s accepted, one could install the official nightly version on macOS by doing:

brew cask install slicer-nightly

This is the comitted cask:

It would need to be updated often. I can do it for some time, but I guess the right thing would be that someone from the core set a periodic script to update it everyday. It needs just the version (like 4.7.0.26186,672116) and an URL as parameters.

Please let me know what you think.

Best,
Fernando

3 Likes

Hi @Fernando

Thanks for working on this :+1:

As I have no experience with brew, do you have an example command line invocation of cask-repair ?

Would the following work:

curl -L https://raw.githubusercontent.com/vitorgalvao/tiny-scripts/master/cask-repair -o cash-repair.sh && \
chmod u+x cash-repair.sh && \ 
./cash-repair.sh --fail-on-error --cask-url XXX --cask-version 4.7.0.26186,672116  slicer

What should the parameter for cask-url and cask-version ?

1 Like

Hi @jcfr,

I learnt about all this stuff yesterday. I think something like that would work (replacing slicer by slicer-nightly). My idea is, once my PR is accepted, I can try those lines, make the necessary modifications, and once it seems like it’s working I’ll confirm the procedure in this thread.

Btw, the script doesn’t need to manually downloaded. It can be installed using brew:

brew install vitorgalvao/tiny-scripts/cask-repair
cask-repair --fail-on-error --cask-url XXX --cask-version 4.7.0.26186,672116 slicer-nightly

I’m not sure if the URL can be given as a function of the version, as in the cask code.

Sounds like a plan. Thanks :+1: