After saving and re-opening files, I cannot re-edit the labels using Editor

Operating system: Windows
Slicer version: 4.8.1

Hi, as I am new to Slicer, I am still quite unsure about many terminology and especially about the file type extensions. Please excuse me if I use some terms wrongly.
I was doing a segmentation of the knee joint using Editor module, but after I saved all the files as .nrrd format and re-opened the files on a separate occasion, the labels were all no longer in the original “colours” and classifications, but all ended up as black labels. I also could no longer use Editor to edit the labels, for instance paint over using the same thresholding effect I used previously.
Please advise if there is anything I can do to re-edit the labels using the same properties I previously had in place, and if there is anything I can do to prevent such situations from arising again.

Thank you so much!

The Editor module is considered a legacy module and is no longer maintained. Please import the labelmap to a segmentation node: Segmentations module import/export section or in Data module by right-clicking the labelmap and choose “Convert labelmap to segmentation node”. Once this is done, you can edit the segmentation in the Segment Editor module.

One more piece of advice: please download a recent nightly. The Segment Editor module especially went through a lot of improvements since the release of 4.8.1.

Hello, thank you so much for the prompt reply!
However, I wasn’t able to find that option in the Data module after right-clicking. :frowning:

Also, what do you mean by “legacy module”?
Does this also imply that after saving and re-opening, I won’t be able to use the Editor module to edit labelmaps, but can only use the Segment Editor to edit? (I previously did not use the Segment Editor, purely the Editor module, followed by the Surface Model > Model Maker to create my 3D model.)

Thank you so much for your help!