Creating a module with existing python code

Hi all

I’m new to 3D slicer and I’m looking for ways to create a plug-in (extension) in this software which can utilize already existing python codes. I can’t really find anything helpful online about this. Anybody here who can help me out?

Thanks,
Jesse

I think this resource is supposed to be the extension developer starting point: https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Developers/Tutorials/BuildTestPackageDistributeExtensions

Did you see it? Or you did see it, but it was not helpful?

I did see it, but I still don’t quite understand. I have never used slicer before.
I also don’t quite understand the difference between a scripted module (which is written in python) and a python based CLI. Which would be the best choice for my application?

It depends on what your application is. CLIs are suitable for non-interactive and batch processing tools.

It can help if you start with an extension that has similar functionality. If you share the details of what you are trying to do, we may be able to point you to similar extensions/modules, or give more specific advice.

Hi fedorov. The idea is to manually delineate tumors in some MRI slices and then the extension should delineate the remaining slices resulting in a complete delineation. A first version of the python code to do this is already available. I’m looking if it is feasible to implement this existing python code in a plugin/extension, so basically an implementation of the code. Thanks.

Take a look at Segment Editor: https://slicer.readthedocs.io/en/latest/user_guide/module_segmenteditor.html

There is already “Fill between slices” effect. This should be a good place to start.

1 Like