Creating a 3D Slicer extension with minimal programming skills

Operating system: Win64
Slicer version: 4.11

Hello,

I am an Engineering Student, with a background in CAD Softwares and Product Design. Recently, for an internship project, I started to use 3D Slicer to perform segmentation on CT scans and MRI DICOMs. For this project, I want to create a little extension to optimize my workflow, using only existing features of the software (or extensions like SegmentEditorExtraEffect). My goal is mainly to recreate a custom GUI where I have only the features I use, in the sequence I need to have something intuitive.

My problem is that I have a really REALLY low knowledge in programming, and since I don’t really want to add any function nor do I need to automatize existing features, I wonder if there is any way to create a GUI that uses existing tools without having to code that much… What do you think?

Thank you in advance for your help !

1 Like

Maybe somebody else here can chime in if they have been through this process recently. I suspect it’s a challenge for a new developer to be learning python and slicer (vtk, qt, etc) all at the same time. But if you are just creating buttons and rearranging widgets it’s certainly doable.

You can start with one of these tutorials and see how it fees:

https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/4.10/Training#Tutorials_for_software_developers

Thank you for your answer ! Effectively, I already saw this page and tried some tutorials. The hard thing for me is to understand what I’m doing… Because on some tutorials, it’s just a matter of copy pasting without much thinking, so I manage through the tutorial but can’t say that I learn that much. Other tutorials I don"t really understand because there are huge differences between the screenshots provided and what I actually see in the code. Maybe because things changed a bit (especially around the module extension wizard’s generated code).