Customizing 3DSlicer for Video Stream Rendering: Combining ScriptModule for GUI and LoadableModule for Stream Display Without GUI

Regarding custom development of 3DSlicer, I am still a newbie and constantly exploring and learning. From the official documentation of 3DSlicer, we can see that there are three types of Modules in 3DSlicer:

• LoadableModule
  • ScriptModule
  • CLIModule

Currently, we want to read the video stream from a capture card and continuously render it in the SliceView of 3DSlicer in our customized version. This is similar to the SlicerOpenIGTLink module, but without the involvement of a GUI, where all node creation is done automatically.

Since the application itself also involves GUI development, we want to add two Modules to accomplish this:

• A ScriptModule to handle GUI development.
  • A LoadableModule to handle video stream display.

After reviewing some LoadableModule codes, I found that they are all tied to the GUI. Therefore, I would like to ask:

1. Is it possible to develop a LoadableModule without a GUI?
  2. Are there any similar cases that we can refer to?

The two requirements “render it in the SliceView” and “develop a LoadableModule without a GUI” seems to be contradictory.

By develop a LoadableModule without a GUI, do you mean a module in which you would customize the layout and hide unwanted element like default Slicer toolbars and alike ?

Thank you very much for your response.

Although it may seem contradictory, this module will be developed in C++ to ensure processing efficiency, so it does not fall under the scope of ScriptModule. The current design idea is that reading the video stream is an automatic behavior, which means that the video stream is automatically read after the screen transition or when the application starts. Then, the screen refresh is triggered by the update of the node. This behavior indeed looks more like a Non-GUI Loadable Module.