DICOM Export Rounding to Integer Values

Hi all,

I am assuming it is a setting I am not able to locate on Slicer, so I’m hopeful this will be an easy question to answer! The problem I am having is that all my DICOM exports seem to convert the values in my PK maps (e.g. K-trans) into whole integer numbers upon export. This is problematic when most values are lying between 0-1 and thus I can’t get an accurate measurement of my ROI’s.

I have attempted exporting in the same subject folder as the original images, adjusting the DICOM settings and re-opening in several other image analysis software’s (ImageJ, MATLAB etc.).

Any assistance on this will be highly appreciated!

Best,
Maddie

I’m not a DICOM expert but as far as I know integer is the only available scalar type for images. RT dose tackles this problem by specifying a scaling factor, which is applied when loading, and this is how it achieves floating point values.
What modality are you trying to export it to? Do you know if there is a DICOM modality specified for PK maps?

I originally import MRI sequences in DICOM format to Slicer. Then use the PKModeling Module to generate the maps. I don’t know of a specific modality for these maps, but know that prior to export, they definitely have float values included- Exporting loses the scaling factor implemented in the program. Slightly lost for ideas.

Until very recently DICOM did not support floating-point voxel types at all (its use is still extremely limited), but instead you store integer voxels and scaling information (rescale slope, intercept, and type values; or modality LUT) as @cpinter described above.

Are you sure you need the result in DICOM format? Do you have examples of PK maps stored in DICOM? What do you plan to do with the exported data set?