How should I order a CT or MR for Best results? Having problems with multiple series when loading to 3D Slicer

Hello!

I’m new at 3D slicer and I want to basically create Anatomical Models for research and training development (segmentation and 3D printing). I have a bunch of MR and CT Studies, each study with a number of series, for example:

If I load any of those series it will give me the three planes, let say I choose “Series#401 SAGITAL II”:

I’m getting the images, however, shouldn’t the other series “add” to create a better outcome?

So my questions are:

If I’m capable of asking a radiologist technician/provider to create a study what imaging specifications should I ask for?
If I already have the study, like the one in the images, how can I have a more accurate result?
Is the technician mixing the results of the study?

I’m confused, because if I load the three series, it will create different volumes and every volume will have the three planes.

It would love if somebody could help me get some clarity or point me in the right direction.

I appreciate all the help!

Best,

CDP

These ‘sagittal’ and ‘coronal’ series are just pre-computed versions of what Slicer does on the fly by reslicing the axials, so they don’t really add extra information. Better to only load the original axial (series 2). The convention used here is not uncommon, where series numbers in the hundreds mean derived or extra data (like the 999 dose report).