How to enable apply button in new created Extension Wizard module?

Hello,

I am new in Slicer programming.

Created a module using extension wizard, however, the self.applyButton in Widget class is always disabled. I use PyCharm to debug, and in the function

‘’’
def onSelect(self):
        self.applyButton.enabled = self.inputSelector.currentNode() and self.outputSelector.currentNode()
‘’’

when a new volume is loaded, the function onSelect is triggered, both inputSelector and outputSelector are not null. However, I could never see the applyButton enabled.

Why couldn’t the applyButton be enabled?
How should I enable it? Or should I change the code?

Thank you very much!

I would recommend to use the latest “scripteddesigner” module template. GUI state updates should be more clear now. If you have any questions about this latest template then let us know.

If you want to keep using the old template then adding a breakpoint in PyCharm execute the code step-by-step is a good way to understand what your code does (and why it is not the same what you expect).

Hi Iassoan,

The latest template you recommended using UI framework seems even harder to understand. Any resource as a tutorial showing how to build a customerized template?

I am more familiar with qt commands without using UI, do you have any tutorial explanation for the template without UI, please?

Thank you very much!

Maybe you have checked an earlier version? ScriptedDesigner template was already quite well documented, but I added even more comments. If anything is still unclear then let me know.

We have found that using a .ui file for creating GUI makes the GUI easier to design and the code easier to debug and maintain. If you are not familiar with it then check out this tutorial.

1 Like

Hi Iassoan,

In the extension wizard template, the run function in Logic class was commented as “run the actual algorithm”, but there is not much explanation about how the thresholded output volume was calculated: