Load OpenInventor (.iv) VRML 1.0 bone files in 3D Slicer

Hi all,

I am very new to Slicer so please excuse me for my ignorance. I am currently trying to understand how I can take an .iv file that represents a bone and output this onto slicer. Would love any help I can get. thank you in advance

What software did you use to create these .iv file?

Can you share an example?
(upload to dropbox/OneDrive and post the link here; make sure it does not contain patient information)

Thank you for your quick response. To be honest, I don’t know what software was used to create these .iv files as I am new to the lab and was just instructed to accomplish this. Attached below is a Google Drive link to an example of one of these files. Essentially just a bunch of 3D coordinate points that represent triangles and then points to distinguish how they are connected. I am able to run this in Matlab by simply calling on a built-in function after parsing through the data and was wondering if there is some slicer equivalent.

Link: 14819_cap_R.iv - Google Drive

Sorry to be a bother, but any thoughts? I can’t seem to find any prior discussion post about this subject matter nor any documentation. Closest I have gotten is finding scripts that output PLY or STL files.

I haven’t worked with OpenInventor in a long time. As I recall the format is very free-form so probably no universal reader. You could start with OpenInventor code and maybe you can load using a demo program and save the parts you want in another format. Or you could try Mevislab, which is based on OpenInventor and has a free trial version with many options.

I had a look at the file and it is indeed an OpenInventor file, which stores a single triangle mesh in VRML 1.0 file format. I could not find any open-source file reader for it, so I’ve implemented a very simple reader and added to the Sandbox extension.