Lung airway segmentation

i want to use lung airway segmentation tool in 3D slicer but i can’t find it in the slicer i downloaded. pl help

1 Like

i am quite new to 3d slicer. when i am viewing RGB image set, it’s giving me R G B values separately. pl tell me how to find HU at different locations

thanks for workstation info

Sorry, you’ll need to provide more detail if you need help (what data you loaded, how you loaded it, what you expected to see and what you see instead). Sometime screenshots help (but no patient-identifiable data please). If your data is RGB typically the mapping back to HU is not recoverable.

one more thing. i have downloaded workstation CIP but how to add it in 3D slicer??

Download “Slicer with CIP integrated” - that contains a Slicer distribution that already contains CIP modules.

1 Like

thanks, could install slicer with CIP integrated. i am in the learning stage and working on airway and vessel segmentation of lung CT dicom images. i have segmented out the lung lobes. as airways and vessels are very different than bone, what strategy should i follow. moreover as i am doing phd, for research will it be enough if i use slicer tools for segmentation or i have to do coding. i am quite new, sorry if i sound stupid.

one more thing. i did some vessel segmentation work on jpeg image set using matlab. is there any way to view its 3D view in 3D slicer?

Saving 3D medical images as a sequence of JPEG files leads to many problems (decreased image quality: bit depth limited to 8 bits or less, potential compression artifacts; no slice spacing information, no anatomical image orientation information; etc). Instead, you can use image file formats that are developed for this purpose and widely supported by all medical image computing applications, such as NRRD.

You can find Matlab reader and writer for NRRD files here: https://github.com/PerkLab/SlicerMatlabBridge/tree/master/MatlabCommander/commandserver