Osteotomy planning for bone reconstruction the forefoot using PSI (patient specific instruments): does anybody know of a team that is interested in the data and can provide clinical input?

Hi everybody, I’m an SPL alumni computer scientist (back in 2005).
We have done the workup of a clinical case that could be used as a case report for foot surgery. We are searching for a team that could give clinical input and/or wants to use this data for a case report. It seems like osteotomies of the metatarsal are usually performed without any 3D computer aided planning which in some cases can lead to undesirable outcomes.

A quick medical history:
After 3 forefoot surgeries the patient (44 years old) can’t walk any more without having strong pain in the mid-foot area. From all current clinical examinations it seems likely this is a biomechanical problem due to the altered shape of the metatarsal bone. Each surgery performed osteotomy and reorientation of the metatarsal-head.
Here a visual overview of how the metatarsal bone has been changed in the course of 3 surgeries. It can be assumed that the bone positions were physiological before the first reorienting osteotomy.
The 2nd and 3rd metatarsal osteotomies were performed in order to reconstruct the “original anatomy” of the big toe joint. In the 3rd surgery the big toe joint had to be fused (arthrodesis of the first metatarsophalangeal joint). Half a year later, the altered biomechanics already started provoking arthroses in the neighboring joints of the mid-food, probably amplified by the long lever of the fused metatarsal-phalanx bone. This probably makes pain-free walking impossible even with special orthopedically adapted shoes.

In order to analyze and visualize the problem, we have used 3DSlicer to segment the CTs. We then mirrored the contra-lateral side and registered the models.