Rat Lungs Trouble

Operating system: Linux
Slicer version: 4.8.1
Expected behavior: I’m working with a DICOM file of rat’s lungs and according to my PI the file sizes are very large and because of that the program runs very slowly. I’ve tried to do several different techniques I’ve seen online such as cutting out certain segments using the scissors tool under the segment editor module (for some reason the ‘erase outside’ doesn’t do anything), I’ve also tried cropping the volume using the crop volume module (although it runs and creates a new save when I try to render that under the volume rendering module it doesn’t load anything) and I’ve also tried an extension called “Slicer - AirwaySegmentation” and that doesn’t result in anything either. The overall goal is to get different renderings of the lobes and if possible, the bronchi in order to calculate volumes and diameters. If there are any suggestions I would love feedback, I’m extremely new to Slicer 3D so some directions could go over my head if there isn’t enough detail. I greatly appreciate the help!
Actual behavior: N/A

To improve speed, crop the volume to the relevant region of interest and/or decrease resolution (increase “Spacing scale” parameter). After cropping, remove the original, non-cropped volume to conserve memory. Erasing segments will not make segmentation faster. Scissors effect will not modify or crop the original volume, so it will not make anything faster either.

What are the dimensions of the volume after cropping? (you can see that in Volumes module / Volume information section)

What would you like to segment in the lung? What would you like to use the segmentation for? Can you attach screenshots of how things look now and an example of what you would like to have?