Reconstructing a 3D volume from 2D slices

Dear community,
I am a newbie to 3D Slicer and I’m hoping to get some advice!

I have a dataset consisting of 1700 2D image slices (60GB total) originally in 16-bit TIFF format. I converted these to 8-bit JPEGs (400MB total) using Photoshop software for easier handling.

Using the SlicerMorph extension, I reconstructed a 3D volume from these JPEG slices (attached image). My goal is to segment this volume into regions based on intensity values:

• Silica: High intensity values (210-255)
  • High Organic Matter: Intermediate intensity values (110-200)
  • Low Organic Matter: Lower intensity values (50-110)
  • Air: Intensity values below 50

I’ve attempted to use the Segment Editor’s Threshold function to accomplish it. However, the threshold value range is limited to 0 to 16 rather than 0 to 255.

Could you please advise me on how to proceed?
Any assistance you can provide would be greatly appreciated!
Best regards,

Tha’ts probably your initial problem. At this point you don’t know what happened to the intensities during that conversion.

Instead you can import the your original TIFF at lower resolution (preview option), and see what the original intensity distribution looked like. You can use this script to do that: Script repository — 3D Slicer documentation

How do you know these values correspond to those materials? Air should be just around 0.

I would just look at the intensity distribution plot and see if you can make out four peak as you expected to see, and use the values around those peaks to do my segmentation.

1 Like

Dear Mr. Muratmaga,

I have constructed a 3D volume from the original .tiff format data. However, the density range of this volume is limited to 0-15 instead of the expected 0-255 range.

It’s important to note that this density range aligns with previous research on the material of my sample.

The desired intensity ranges for segmentation are as follows:

• Silica: High intensity values (210-255)