Rotational Ultrasound

Hey all, I am pretty new to 3D slicer, so I apologize if someone has answered my question before. Essentially, I have taken a rotational ultrasound around a fixed point and I am trying to recreated a 3D model based on this alone. Does anyone know it is possible for 3D slicer can produce a model from something like this? My issue is that the program view my rotational scan as a horizontal scan (through one dimensional plane). I feel like if I could make 3D slicer fixate potentially on a pixel that I know the ultrasound rotates around and spit out a model as if it was reading the base of a cone… maybe it could work? Regardless, does anyone have any ideas/extensions/anything that could be of help? Also my ability to code things is pretty poor… ='(

Thank you in advance!

1 Like

SlicerIGT extension’s Volume reconstruction module is developed for this purpose. See for example this demo:

If your ultasound image sequence does not contain position and orientation information for each frame (which is usually the case) then you can use this script to add that information and reconstruct the volume.

The script assumes that the ultrasound image sequence is loaded as a 3D volume (each time point is a frame of the volume), so you may either need to load the ultrasound image with enabling Advanced option in DICOM module and choose the Scalar Volume reader; or modify the script sothat it uses a volume sequence as input (the script will be somewhat simpler, as you don’t need to create a new sequence, just modify volumes in the sequence).

Thank you for your help! I am still running into some issues. I don’t exactly know if it is because I am using a stack of png files instead of dicom, or if I am not utilizing the right combination of extensions, or if it is something else entirely. But, I am getting this error back when I try to implement the script you linked: