segmentation different structure of individual tooth

Hi guys, I am new with this app. I did try the watershed effect for tooth segmentation. I am going to do a research project measuring volume of the tooth. But, my area of interest is the different structure of teeth, specific to measure volume of enamel and root. I want to ask suggestion if you guys have any suggestion to segmented it. I found the enamel part (the red one) is very small and hard to detect the border. I attach with my screenshot of my area of interest. Thank you if you guys could help me.Screenshot (312)

1 Like

To get the root volume, I would recommend to segment the entire tooth as described in these topics:

You should be able to then split the segment between the root and enamel using thresholding. If the image quality is not sufficiently good then you may need apply smoothing and/or apply manual touch-ups. You may also try Grow from seeds and Watershed effects with seeds placed in the enamel and outside.

@manjula have you tried to segment the enamel? Do you have any specific suggestions?

@lassoan and @HAFIZAL

I have very limited experience in isolating teeth only. I have not tried to segment the enamel specifically but I felt i was much easier compared to roots even with thresholding.

The project I seek help with you before was to measure the preoperative and postoperative root resorption with the existing CBCT data.
We did a few cases and we were not satisfied with the results that we were getting and we abandoned the project. I think it was primarily due to the quality of the CBCT and what we were measuring was very small amount of resorption and reliably segmenting the root only was not very predictable.

From my limited experience, I feel the hardest part is separating between the root dentine/cementum with the PDL. If we are segmenting above the alveolar bone it should be much easier just to segment out the enamel only as it is air is around it.