Slice view performance

Hello all,

I’m helping someone develop a Guidelet for her research, and I’m running into some very poor performance. We use SlicerIGT to connect to two Plus servers for a combined 2 images and 6 transforms. With some models and resliced views in 3D mode, we’re getting about 9 updates per second and stuttering rendering of the 3D scene.

So, some questions:
The volume reslice driver seems like massive overkill to render a slice with a world transform (or transform chain). My performance analysis puts it at ~8% total CPU samples. Is there a less expensive way to render a slice in the 3D view with a non-identity IJKtoRAS?

Are their any performance optimization options for OpenIGTLink handling receiving of data. It’s a bit hard to tell as I’m new to performance reports, but it looks like there’s a lot of redundant observed event triggers.

Any help is much appreciated.

Adam

This is more like a troubleshooting question than a real answer but do you use two layout managers or one?
If the guidelet opens in a new window instead of using Slicer’s main window then there are performance issues. That’s why the guidelet people here implemented their programs to alter Slicer’s main window instead of opening a new one (if what I heard a while back is still valid).

No, single layout manager. The Guidelet does not open into a new window, and is derived from the SlicerIGT Guidelet class.

Hi @adamrankin - If you have an easy way to replicate the issue (like a self test with dummy data) we could try various profiling and optimization options.

Well, sadly not easy, as it requires the connections to Plus servers to see the performance dip. I could record some sample data to replay, but it would still require running the two servers and the Guidelet.

Instead of using the volume reslice driver, I think I can continuously update the IJKtoRAS of the slice and let the Slicer infrastructure take care of rendering it in the right place.