SPHARM-PDM Euler Number problem

Hello everyone,

For my M.Sc. Thesis work, I need to apply SPHARM-PDM analysis to certain number of segmented hippocampi from an experiment but I am really new to the program and I still cannot make sense out of it clearly.

When I follow the tutorial, I open the Slicer 3D and I go to the Shape Analysis Model and I want to apply it to the segmented hippocampi mesh file .vtk (which is not empty, I can visualize it in MATLAB through trisurf command). It first converts it from mesh to label map (Step 0 folder is non-empty), then applies post process segmentation and I get the _pp file but on second step I get the following error:

itk::ExceptionObject (0x7ffeb221f1a0)
File: /home/kitware/Dashboards/Stable/S-481-E-b/SPHARM-PDM/Libraries/Shape/Algorithms/BinaryMask3DEqualAreaParametricMeshSource.txx
Line: 183
Description: Warning: Euler equation not satisfied. Euler Number : 781156 - 781156 = 0

and I don’t know where to look for the problem - I looked through many forum posts and could not find a similar problem. Is it because I am using .vtk file instead of .nii.gz or something similar, a label map? Which I highly doubt because the tutorial says that .vtk files are valid inputs. Is it because there is something wrong in the segmentation or in the settings I have?

I would appreciate any help, thanks in advance.
Arda

@bpaniagua @laurapascal

Hi Arda,

Have you visualized the topology of your VTK / nii.gz object? If the Euler Number is not satisfied that means the spherical topology required by SPHARM is not met.

More information on the Euler Number is here https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Euler_characteristic#Surfaces

Thank you!
Beatriz

Hi Beatriz,